Highlights of WWE Monday Night Raw 2-24-14

I know we just had Elimination Chamber last night, but it’s Monday and we all know that brings along Monday Night Raw. Elimination Chamber continued the recent trend of how WWE’s Pay-Per-Views have left fans with a sour taste in their mouth. Fortunetly, WWE has really been on it’s A game recently in putting it’s flagship show together. With all that being said, let’s see how WWE tries to rebound after another bad pay-per-view ending.

The Good

WHATCHA GONNA DO BROTHER- For over the past year, we have all heard the rumors of how Hulk Hogan would be involved in Wrestlemania 30 in some sort of fashion. For me, it was nice to know that we wouldn’t have to see Hulk get into the ring to be involved, as this past weekend he was named the host for Wrestlemania 30. Kicking off the show, it was refreshing to hear to “I am a real American” over the speakers. I love how Hulk Hogan can come back to WWE and get a pretty solid reaction, even though since he was last seen in a WWE ring, he has been in the news for all the wrong reasons. I wonder how that has to make Bootista, oops sorry, Batista feel. Like him or not brother, Hulk Hogan is the reason WWE was able to become what it is today. He may not have been the best in the ring, or on the mic, but he took wrestling from small territories, to being known today as a worldwide phenomenon. Seriously, ask anyone who doesn’t watch wrestling, and they will at least know one name…Hulk Hogan. Hulk always said that Hulkamania would never die, and tonight he proved that. I am not his biggest fan, and I will admitt that, but it was nice to see him back where he belongs. So I’ve gotta ask you brother…WHATCHA GONNA DO WHEN HULKAMANIA, RUNS WILD ON YOU?!?!

Will Cesaro ever stop being awesome?- Cesaro has surpassed Daniel Bryan in my opinion has the companies most talented wrestler. That’s not a knock against Bryan, trust me, but Cesaro does something so ridiculous every match he is in, he can’t help but standout. Every time I see him do a european uppercut on someone, I still can’t believe how he does it. The Cesaro Swing? Every time I see it, I think I’m going to throw up, so I can’t even imagine how it feels to be the victim. Ok, point is, Cesaro is awesome. He could wrestle Tensai in a 60 minute iron man match and I would be perfectly happy with that.   I honestly wouldn’t mine watching him and Big E. go at it at Wrestlemania. I enjoy Big E., but I think his run as champion has gotten a little stale. Let’s put him together with Cesaro, and let these two young studs show the WWE fans, what the future holds. Throw in the fact that Swagger cost him the match, and this just got interesting.

Bray Cray- Bray Wyatt is the best talker in the WWE, and that is a fact. Sure, he actually scares the crap out of me and I’m 19 years old but that’s what makes him so awesome!! When was the last time we saw someone come into WWE like this, and completely just tear up the wrestling world. I really just hope Cena doesn’t burry him at Wreslemania. The Shield are breaking up, and I don’t want to talk about it ok? The point is, that now leaves The Wyatts has the most dominant thing in WWE, and if Cena doens’t let Bray go over, well then would anyone still care about them? Cena has said that the future of WWE has to go through him. If that’s the case, and Cena does care about the future of the company he has been proudly representing for the past decade, then Bray Wyatt needs to beat John Cena at Wrestlemania. (All based on speculation, as the match isn’t official, but almost a certainty).

Be Aggresive- Best part of the Christian/Sheamus match, was the fact that Christian and new found edge. Sure, we had to sit through all of the skin cancer jokes by the ever so funny announcing team, but this was a pretty solid match. Christian as the fun loving babyface was getting kind of old, so it’s refreshing to see him as a kind of cocky heel. He’s telling the crowd to shut-up and that he should be champion, I mean, he shouldn’t be, but still, it’s nice to see this Christian come out.

Ok, I forgive you- So we get to see Roman Reigns go one on one with Bray Wyatt tonight? Ok, I mean, yea I guess that’s ok…I guess. Just kidding, can we just stretch this into a year long thing? They could have matches starting on this Raw, and go all the way to Wrestlemania 31 and I’ll be ok with that.

All Roads lead to Rome- It was great to see Roman Reigns have a match with someone who is at least close in amount of experience in the ring. It showed that Reigns could handle himself out there and not just do a superman punch and a spear, and call it a night. Lets face it, Roman Reigns is pretty much Thor and should never ever be beaten. I can’t wait till he pulls a sledgehammer out one time, I will seriously lose it.

Help us Undertaker, you’re our only hope- Once you hear that bell toll, you know that the one constant in WWE has returned, and you start to feel better. You realize that this man has been with the company longer then anyone, and keeps coming back, and risking his health and well being to continue to put on classics at Wrestlemania. WWE has not listened to it’s fans for well over the past year, but once that bell rings, it starts to feel a little better. It’s all about the streak, and what it stands for. It’s how The Undertaker has been the deadman for over 2 decades, and I don’t think I’ve ever been more happy to see him. So thank you Undertaker, for coming back when we needed you most.

The Bad

A boring rematch and everything involving Batista, ever.- Yaay, lets get excited about Batista and Del Rio…again. First off what did we expect from that rematch? Del Rio got a win over Batista, but at this point I’m sure he could really care lass, so why should we? Then after the match we got a promo from Orton and Batista. I did enjoy how Orton acknowledged how Batista has become so hated by WWE fans. He hit all key points that us fans have been feeling since he has returned, and that’s the fact we wanted you to come back yes, but not by main eventing Wrestlemania when you don’t deserve it. I guess Batista is now officially a heel too, so there’s that. To be honest, it’s not like he really needed to “turn” anyway, because no one liked him from the start. Did you see how he just destroyed that mic with spit? Good lord, every other word coming out of his mouth was like watching Sylvester the cat from the Loony Toons talk. For those keeping track at home, I still haven’t subscribed for the WWE Network, and it’s because I am not sitting through these two at Wrestlemania.

Brb Crying- Dean just walked off from The Shield promo, excuse me as I go cry in my bathroom and hope they talk it over and never ever breakup.

See what can happen?- I hope WWE and Triple H saw that him just beating Kane can give him that kind of reation. That was agaisnt Kane. who is a minor part of the overall “Authority” so just imagine that if he beat the Authoritys champion Randy Orton at Wrestlemania just imagine that scene!! I’m picturing it right now, and it’s a pretty enjoyable sight, but sadly no one with the power to do anything actually takes the time to realize how awesome it could be. Also, I don’t enjoy how the New Age Outlaws are currently the tag team champions. It deserves to be The Uso’s. They should be the tag team champions thanks to this simple fact. Can you imagine one of the Uso’s without the other? No, you can’t because they are a tag team, and a pretty great one at that. If you’re not going to give us Daniel Bryan, at least give us the Uso’s ok? Please?!

Give him a break- Bray Wyatt is not only the best talker in the WWE right now, but he is the best character. Yes, he was Husky Harris in the past, but right now he one of the best things that WWE have going for them so please, cut those chants out. Save them for Mark Henry, or Ryback, because Wyatt doesn’t deserve to hear them.

Overally, a pretty solid show. No matches really stood out for me, but I am very happy to see Taker back. No longer, do we have CM Punk, so his return was well needed, and a match with Brock Lesnar actually looks to be a little promising after their first segment together. Oh well, we’ll see what next week brings us.

Follow me on Twitter @WizzardWoz

Buffalo Bills news written by yours truly can be found on fantasyknuckleheads.com

Leave a comment